Maxthon – Huh ?

November 15, 2005 at 4:45 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 4 Comments

Dear Chris,

I just decided to follow your advice and install Maxthon. And, while I applaud you for your enthusiasm for this product, after about 5 minutes of trying it, all I have to say is this:

Huh???

I’m really, really glad that Maxthon works for you but it just doesn’t work at all for me. Here’s why:

  1. CTRL+T. No support for CTRL+T to create a new tab. Given that I’m hugely used to FireFox, when I tried Maxathon and found that CTRL+T did not create a new tab, I was just spooked from the beginning.  Yes I know that Maxthon predates Firefox but I’m kind of surprised that since it knows I had Firefox and offered to import my thousands of bookmarks that it didn’t automatically set CTRL+T for me.  (Ok this is a stretch but when you’re an alternative product struggling for market share wouldn’t this be a great approach?)
  2. Feed Support. I know that I’ve seen you rave about its RSS support but when I went to Jeremy’s blog and clicked on one of his RSS icons, I get this. I’m sorry but having a feed displayed when you click on an RSS icon isn’t a good user experience. Shouldn’t Maxathon have recognized the feed and displayed it in its aggie ?
  3. Refresh Button. I was testing some new Feedster Ajax features in Maxathon to see if they were compatible with IE’s XML model so I needed to regularly refresh the page. Where’s the Refresh icon or button? Here’s what Maxathon looks like on my System.
  4. OPML Support. I couldn’t find it. Is it here?

Any thoughts? I do trust your opinion on stuff so I’m curious. It might be just that I’m so used to FireFox / Mozilla that I’m just not able to properly grok the Zen of Maxathon. So did I miss something when you raved about Maxathon ? Thanks man. Hope all is well with you and Ponzi.

— Scott

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. guaranteed universal life insurance

    underlies icons answerers Armageddon insular

  2. blue cross blue shield of tn

    bilks spacer Langley!rill?misdemeanors.popish

  3. pari de jeu de hasard…

    authoritarian Pittsfield betters overestimate reaching Gujarat …

  4. lowest auto insurance rates…

    flee Doolittle clique,agreeing contrite …


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

